ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has released a notification regarding the successful candidates in the Senate by-elections held on March 14.

According to the notification, Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani from the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) has been declared as the Senator for a general seat from Islamabad.

From Sindh, PPP’s Jam Saifullah Dharejo and Muhammad Aslam Abro have been declared as elected Senators for the two vacant seats.

In Balochistan, Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo representing PPP, Abdul Shakoor Khan Ghaibai from Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F), and Mir Dostain Khan of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) have been notified as Senators.

Earlier on March 14, PPP secured victory in four out of six Senate seats in the by-elections.

In the National Assembly, PPP’s candidate Yousaf Raza Gilani emerged victorious with 204 votes, while Chaudhary Ilyas Mehrban from Sunni Ittehad Council came second with 88 votes.

In the Sindh Assembly, PPP’s candidates Jam Saifullah Dharejo and Aslam Abro secured victory with 58 and 57 votes respectively. Meanwhile, Nazirullah and Shazia Sohail from the Sunni Ittehad Council each received 4 votes. A total of 124 MPAs, including 116 from PPP and 8 from the Sunni Ittehad Council, participated in the polling.

Read more: Disqualification case: PHC suspends ECP proceedings against Gandapur

In Balochistan, PPP’s Mir Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo won with 23 votes. Additionally, Abdul Shakoor Khan Ghaibai from JUI-F and Mir Dostain Khan from PML-N were declared winners of the vacant Senate seats.

Source link

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *