ISLAMABAD: The polling for by-elections 2024 on 21 National Assembly and provincial assembly vacant seats concluded amid sporadic incidents of clashes between the workers of political parties in Punjab.

The cellular and internet services remained suspended in specific districts of Balochistan & Punjab to maintain law and order situation during the electoral process.

The voting for the first major by-election, which took place after the February 8 general elections, started at 8am and continued till 5pm today without any interval.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), the polling is being held on five National Assembly seats, twelve Punjab Assembly seats, two seats of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, and two seats of the Balochistan Assembly.

Mobile service suspended amid by-elections 2024

The Interior Ministry has instructed the suspension of mobile internet services temporarily in specific districts of Punjab and Balochistan during the by-elections 2024 owing to the security situation.

In this regard, the Pakistan Telecommunication Authority (PTA) issued a statement, saying that the decision to suspend the internet and cellular services was implemented to facilitate a fair and peaceful voting process.

READ MORE: By-Elections 2024: PTA announces to shut down internet in Punjab & Balochistan

Vacant seats after February 8 polls

The by-elections are being held on five NA seats, and 12 Punjab Assembly seats, two each in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan Assemblies.

The provincial assembly seats include PK-22 and PK-91 (KP), PB-20 and PB-22 (Balochistan), and PS-80 (Sindh). The Punjab Assembly seats where the by-polls are taking place include PP-32 (Gujrat), PP-36 (Wazirabad), PP-54 (Narowal), PP-93 (Bhakkar), PP-139 (Sheikhupura), PP-147, PP-149, PP-158, PP-164 (Lahore), PP-266 (Rahim Yar Khan) and PP-290 (Dera Ghazi Khan).

The National Assembly (NA) seats include NA-8 and NA-44 (KP) NA-119 and NA-132 (Punjab) and NA-196 (Sindh).

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), re-polling is being held in NA-8 Bajaur and PK-22 Bajaur as it was postponed on February 8 after the murder of candidate Rehan Zeib Khan.

Additionally, polling will be held in NA-44 Dera Ismail Khan, where Ali Amin Gandapur vacated the National Assembly seat, choosing to retain his provincial assembly seat to assume the role of KP Chief Minister.

READ MORE: By-Elections 2024: Govt cancels intermediate exams in Lahore

Similarly, Punjab Chief Minister Maryam Nawaz Sharif vacated her NA-119 seat in the provincial capital of Lahore, choosing instead to retain the PP-159 constituency. Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif won two provincial and national assembly seats in the elections. He kept NA 123 Lahore constituency by leaving the seats of NA 132 Kasur, PP 158, and PP 164 of Lahore vacant.

Bilawal Bhutto Zardari won two NA seats and decided to retain NA-194 (Larkana) leaving the NA-196 seat in Qamber Shahdadkot vacant. The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has allocated 6.23 million to the respective Returning Officers (ROs) for the upcoming by-elections in 21 constituencies.

Source link

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *